Today Is Another Day

Today Is Another Day

My name is James Golaszewski. I am an artist.

I have always been an artist, I will always be an artist.

I believe that art does not come from the artist, it passes through the artist. To that extent, an artist is a type of spiritual medium. Being an artist is not about talent, it is about having the need to communicate in a creative fashion. Those that have this need (obsession?) are tasked by the universe with learning, developing, and perfecting the skills needed to fulfill their destiny. To not do so is an affront to the universe, and a waste of a blessing.

Art is a conversation with the universe. In order for there to be a conversation you must contribute something, and more importantly, you must listen.

I am starting this blog to create a home for this conversation.

Over time, I have always painted. In order to keep things authentic, I use the visual vocabulary that surrounds my Central Illinois home to create surreal visual meditations on life. This can be a problem. Artists have been painting landscapes for thousands of years, and an artist working in the landscape genre has to overcome the viewers initial “I’ve seen that before” reaction. This is not easy. To accomplish this I use bold textures and creative compositions to create a distinctive style of realism. My paintings are inspired by discoveries and realizations about life, nature, and humanity.

Over the course of my life, in addition to being an artist I also spent 35 years as a Patrol Deputy with the Champaign County Sheriff’s Office. My unique insight is born from the juxtaposition and intermingling of these disparate career paths – artist and Deputy Sheriff.

Since I am just starting out, there is not much here right now.  But, as we used to say…  stay tuned.

Leave a Reply

